Liberty, NY


The Town of Liberty, in New York’s beautiful Catskill Mountains, was established in 1807. Located approximately 90 miles north of New York City, Liberty has a rich history dating back to the time of the Revolutionary War. Today, with its excellent schools, outdoor recreation and its escalating business climate, the Town of Liberty is a great place to live, play and do business.

Town of Liberty – 2016 Elected Officials

Dean Farrand
Dean Farrand

Brian McPhillips
Brian McPhillips

Russell Reeves
Russell Reeves


Laurie Dutcher
Laurie Dutcher
Town Clerk

Vincent McPhillips
Vincent McPhillips



Town Board
Dean Farrand – Councilman
Brian McPhillips – Councilman
Vincent McPhillips – Councilman
Russell Reeves – Councilman

Town Clerk
Laurie Dutcher – Town Clerk/Tax Collector

Town Court
Harold Bauman – Town Justice
Kirk O. Orseck – Town Justice

Highway Superintendent
Timothy Pellam

Appointed Officials
Kenneth Klein – Town Attorney
Jacob Billig – Assistant Town Attorney
David Schwalb – Health Officer
William Cogswell – Town Historian
Joanne Gerow – Dog Control Officer

Department Heads
Earl Bertsch – Director of Finance
Timothy Kelly – Data Processing and Information Systems
Deborah Shea – Sole Assessor
Tom Kehrley – Chief Water/Waste Water Treatment Plant Operator
Brian Scardefield – Parks & Recreation Director
Scott Razzano – Code Enforcement Officer

Planning Board
Lynn Dowe – Chairman
John Van Etten
Judy Siegel
Anthony Dworetsky – Alternate
Denise Birmingham
Lydia Rolle – Alternate
Branden Reeves
Tammy Wilson – Board Secretary

Zoning Board
Thomas Sprague – Chairman
Kyle Farrand – Alternate
Tracy Merklin
Donald Nichols
George Pellam
Robert Werlau – Alternate
Gene Burns
Tammy Wilson – Board Secretary

Grievance Review Board
Ena Manzi
Diane Silver
Allen Werlau

Parks & Recreation Board
Joanne McPhillips – Chairman
John Ballard
Maureen Barber
Peter Blakey
Linda DeWitt

Staff by Department

Supervisor’s Office
Carman Malanka – Confidential Secretary

Town Clerk’s Office
Sara Sprague – Deputy Town Clerk
Vacant – Deputy Town Clerk P/T

Finance Office
Cheryl Gerow – Budgeting and Accounting Coordinator

Town Court
Denise Curry – Court Clerk/Manager
Nancy Saucier – Secretary
Lillian Rubio – Deputy Court Clerk
Keri-Ann Poley – Clerk to Judge

Building Department
Tammy Wilson – Account Clerk

Assessor’s Office
Sharon McKune – Clerk

Highway Department
Dana Austin – Senior Account Clerk
Michael Fritz – Head Auto Mechanic
James Austin – H.M.E.O.
Matt Dewitt – Working Supervisor
Larry Austin – P/T Laborer
Eric Wolcott – Asst. Auto Mechanic
Robert Wilson – H.M.E.O.
Woodrow Wilson – Laborer
Ed Davis – H.M.E.O.
Steven Schroeder – H.M.E.O.
Kevin Austin – Working Supervisor
Bruce Cox – H.M.E.O.
James DeAveiro – H.M.E.O.
Nicholas Karkos – H.M.E.O.
Jonathan Benton – H.M.E.O.
Anthony Dworestsky – H.M.E.O.
Justin Busing – H.M.E.O.

Water & Sewer Department
Joan Redington – Senior Account Clerk
Thomas Kehrley – Working Supervisor
Wayne Banks – Laborer II
Edwin Hessinger – Laborer II
Damon Knack – Laborer II
Stacy Yaun – Laborer II

Parks & Recreation Department
Kathy Dworetsky – Typist
Kevin Delaney – Park Supervisor
James Guara – Assistant Recreation Director


  • Online Tax Assessment Search
  • Justice Court Plea Form